Doak Walker award adds Peterson to list

07:37 PM CST on Monday, November 15, 2004

By CALVIN WATKINS / The Dallas Morning News

A surprise entry for the Doak Walker Award emerged tonight when the committee selecting the award decided to add freshmen to the list of candidates.

That means Oklahoma freshman running back Adrian Peterson has joined a list of eight semifinalists that will be paired down to three finalists next Monday.

The winner will be announced Dec. 9.

Joining Peterson are: J.J. Arrington (California), Cedric Benson (Texas), Ronnie Brown (Auburn), Reggie Bush (USC), Ryan Moats (Louisiana Tech), Carnell Williams (Auburn), DeAngelo Williams (Memphis).

The award is given to the top running back in the nation. Previously freshman were ineligible for the award because the Doak Walker Award committee wanted players who had achieved success in the classroom. But that was changed during a meeting tonight at SMU.